I’m a distracted eater that’s for sure and it’s a bad habit I know. I have to watch, read or listen to something whilst I chow down.

Something a little unsavoury cropped up whilst I was eating lunch.

I was reading a forum post on mumsnet a parental forum when all of sudden an advert filled the browser on my phone.

I attempted to click off the advert and all of a sudden I get two SMS messages about a subscription I’d started.

At no point had I entered my phone number or was aware I was starting a subscription for mobile games, ringtones or other early 00’s throwbacks.

I was charged 4.99€ right away and this would renew until I cancelled.

This was concerning as I was due to travel to the UK the next morning and I could’ve done without a shady company giving themselves access to my phone details and billing.

The company is Jamba! or Jamster in some markets owned by freenet digital GmbH.

Based in Berlin it appears as though many have been hit by unwanted subscriptions including many cases of minors.

Asking around the office I’m not the only one to have been hit by this company.

I wanted to make sure they had no ability to take further payments as such I called Simyo my mobile provider to stop any company charging me through my phone bill.

For Simyo users you can send an e-mail to service@simyo.de from the e-mail address registered to your Simyo account.

This is what I sent:

Bitte um Einrichtung Drittanbietersperre für simyo-rufnummer (your phone number) LG (Your Name)

 

Next is to contact Jamba! and get your money back and the subscription stopped.

Jamba! support e-mail address appears to be info@support.jamba.net

This was my request:

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren, 

durch eine SMS habe ich erfahren das ich ein Abo (Abonummer: Your phone number)

in Ihrem Hause abgeschlossen habe.

Da ich solche Dienste weder nutze oder je genutzt habe, ist es mir nicht

zu erklären wie dieses Abo zustande gekommen ist. Somit teile ich Ihnen

mit, dass ich Ihrer Aufforderung zur Zahlung nicht nachkommen werde, da

dieser rechtsgrundlos erfolgt.

Ich fordere Sie hiermit auf, Einzelheiten über das Zustanden kommen des

Abos zu zuschicken. Ich habe zu keiner Zeit einen kostenpflichtigen

Vertrag mit Ihnen abgeschlossen. Im Übrigen wäre ein angebliches

Vertragsverhältnis dem Gesamtcharakter nach als sittenwidrig anzusehen

und damit von Anfang an nichtig.

Vorsorglich fechte ich den vermeintlich abgeschlossenen Vertrag wegen

arglistiger Täuschung und wegen Irrtums an.

Rein vorsorglich mache ich von meinem Widerrufsrecht Gebrauch.

Ich fordere Sie auf, keine Abbuchungen von meiner Rufnummer zu tätigen.

Andersfalls werde ich die Einleitung rechtlicher Schritte gegen Sie

prüfen, um feststellen zu lassen, dass Ihnen keine Ansprüche gegen mich

zustehen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

(Your Name)

A few days later I received a response asking for my bank details to make the refund.

Sure enough it arrived and that thus far has been the end of my dealings with Jamba!

Questions still remain of how they are able to continue such practices and how they obtained my phone number from the web browser on my phone.

If you’ve not yet experienced the sheer joy that the abo bring then I’d recommend contacting your provider to block any third parties from using your phone bill to facilitate third party billing.

Leave a Reply

